Ladies First

Female chorus from Dortmund - established 1991

Ladies First is a female chorus with about 35 members from the Dortmund region, aged 15 to 72, committed to a-cappella singing in the barbershop style.
Diversity is not only reflected in our age structure, but also in our repertoire, which covers pop, jazz, country, gospel, spiritual and much more. Even traditional German christmas songs get their touch of barbershop in our christmas concerts.

When the sixteen-member ensemble „Just 16“ was founded under the direction of Manfred Adams in Dortmund almost 30 years ago, nobody was expecting the succes story that would follow. Soon there were more than sixteen members and a new name was needed – „Ladies First“ was born!
Starting with a first place at the first German Barbershop Music Festival in 1993, we have climbed the winner’s podium ten times ever since. In 2011, we were awarded with the title „Meisterchor“ of the North-Rhine-Westfalian choral society (Chorverband NRW).

Director: Manfred Adams, Co-Director: Semhar Kinne

Join us

Rehearsals are on Wednesdays
from 19.15 to 22.00

44139 Dortmund

Ladies First

Frauenchor aus Dortmund - gegründet 1991

Ladies First - das sind rund 35 Frauen von 14 bis 71 Jahren aus Dortmund und Umgebung, die sich dem A-Cappella Gesang im Barbershop-Stil verschrieben haben.
Vielseitigkeit spiegelt sich nicht nur in unserer Altersstruktur wieder, sondern vor allem in unserem außergewöhnlichen Repertoire, das sich über Pop, Jazz, Country, Gospel, Spiritual und vieles mehr erstreckt. Auch traditionellen deutschen Weihnachtliedern verpassen wir gerne mal einen Hauch von Barbershop!

Als sich die 16köpfige Formation „Just 16“ unter der Leitung von Manfred Adams vor fast 30 Jahren in Dortmund gründete, hatte wohl noch niemand geahnt, welche Erfolgsgeschichte sich daraus entwickeln würde. Schnell hatte die Anzahl der Sängerinnen die 16 überschritten, sodass ein neuer Name her musste – „Ladies First“ war geboren!
Angefangen mit dem 1. Platz beim ersten Deutschen Barbershop-Musikfestival 1993 haben wir bis heute insgesamt zehnmal das Siegertreppchen beim Deutschen Barbershop-Wettbewerb erklommen und dürfen uns seit 2011 Meisterchor im Chorverband NRW nennen.

Leitung: Manfred Adams, Co-Leitung: Semhar Kinne

 

Mitsingen

Geprobt wird mittwochs
von 19.15 bis 22.00 Uhr

Saarlandstraße 124a (Kubus)
44139 Dortmund